Becoming an Orphan

When the term “Orphan” is used most people think of babies born without a family, or a home.  Perhaps the commercials come to mind how for a few cents a day you can change a child’s life.

The flip side to that is when you are an adult and you have had to bury your parents.  It is the normal circle of life, for parents who have buried their children I can not fathom the pain.

If you are blessed to still have your parents it is hard to imagine the loss you will feel when they are no longer with you on this Earth.  I have great faith and believe my parents are in Heaven with God the Father.

I’m talking about the loss, when you go to pick up a phone to share a story or just to hear their voice, seeking advice and or comfort.  It is the time when you realize most the value of them in your life.  We all get busy and struggle with the aging of our parents and the toll it takes to care for them.

As we lay to rest another member of our family, it saddens me most for my cousins, for they will now join me and my siblings as adult orphans.

We will celebrate her life, be thankful for our faith and knowing she is at peace.  My prayers will go beyond that they feel the peace in their hearts, days, months and years from now.

My optimistic side now asks if your parents are alive, give them a call, tell them you love them and embrace the crazy they sometimes inflict upon you as an adult.  Remember they raised you and they could probably share some stories that would make you blush for days!

 

2 thoughts on “Becoming an Orphan”

  1. Sorry to hear the loss, but be strong, for

    I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. (‭John‬ ‭14‬:‭18‬ NIV)

    Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭46‬:‭4‬ NIV)

    He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭40‬:‭11‬ NIV)

    “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭49‬:‭15-16‬ NIV)

    “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” (‭Hebrews‬ ‭13‬:‭5‬ NIV)

    The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” (‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭31‬:‭8‬ NIV)

    Therefore be strong, Thanks for the great msg to honor the parents!
    God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

