How do I love thee – let me find the ability to count the ways

There was high awareness this week on NBC about loving the selfie.  It got me thinking, we love our families, friends, we are forgiving of so many and then we walk by a mirror, look at a photo and cringe.  

I’m taking on a challenge which will start with lent and I hope continues for a lifetime.  I am making a promise to myself to start each day reminding myself of all that I love about me.  I want to be thankful for the body that bore my children, I have earned my laugh lines and promise to laugh every day.  I believe that the more I love me, the more that love will radiate in to the world.  I want my children and husband to see themselves and love themselves through my eyes. 

I remember in younger days when I didn’t want to be in photo because my hair wasn’t done, or I felt fat, perhaps the wrong outfit.  All that got me was missing out in photos for generations of family.  Now I allow the pics that are not always perfect because neither am I but I love me just the same.

I vow to leave negativity with those that speak it, and will not allow them to bring me down.  This is not an unrealistic idea that every day will be filled with rainbows and unicorns.  It is a promise to me, to validate myself before I go out in the world where the only certainty is uncertainty.

In this ever changing world wouldn’t it be wonderful if we all took the time to start our day with a little love for thy self..Image

One thought on “How do I love thee – let me find the ability to count the ways”

Leave a Reply

