Out of Sight ~ never out of mind

A parents job is life long, never ends, no time off and if we are lucky we will enjoy a legacy of of generations to follow.  That being said, I have had a few days in Texas with the middle child, all has been fun, busy and exciting. Today she went to work and I awaited for washer/dryer delivery.  The moment she left, I realized I didn’t know where she was going, her employers name, number and my heart began to race.  She thought she would be there for 45 minutes, well four hours later she phoned to say she was ok and the day went well.  I’m not going to lie, heart palpation’s were in full effect.  After her call, I realized we always wonder, worry and look forward to hear from our oldest, he has been out of the nest for a while now.  The difference is we await with anticipation, say prayers on his behalf, but not being under our roof the worry is different.  It is with a tearful smile I do realize my time here was well spent and it is time to go home.  After all, we have one little bird in the nest who needs looking after.  

The gold lining here is, our kids are a gift we cherish, the blessing along the way is we nurtured our marriage, friendship and love along the way.  I can’t wait to get home to my place along side my love, spouse and best friend in the world. 

Leave a Reply

